In 2008, the HEROES campaign was launched by the Hayward Education Foundation, to acknowledge those who believe as we do -- that Hayward students deserve the best education possible. Everyday, people make a commitment to show-up, lend a hand, guide, and make time for students in their community. These selfless acts often go unnoticed and uncelebrated, yet the impact made is felt within each school and its community. These everyday activities are molding the future – by investing time in our schools and students, Hayward Heroes are investing in the future.

In 2019, the Hayward Hero Foundation was formed to continue the tradition of honoring our everyday Heroes. We ask each school in the Hayward community to choose a “Hero.” A Hero is someone who exemplifies kindness, integrity, selflessness, and continually goes above and beyond their usual duties for the betterment of the school and the students.  From a volunteer, teacher, office worker, parent, coach, resource officer, to a custodian; a Hero is anyone who the school community feels should be recognized for their commitment to the greater good of the students and education.  In 2009, we celebrated our heroes with a lunch that was attended by 12 people. In 2018, we honored heroes from 41 schools in the Hayward community and had 700 people attend the celebration dinner. You have an opportunity to be recognized by sponsoring a Hayward Hero!

Your $100 Sponsorship Includes:
•    Name recognition in the event program & yearbook under your sponsored hero.
•    Name recognition on the Hero’s plaque (Must be received by Friday, April 20th).
•    Name recognition on the Hayward Hero Foundation’s Facebook page and Website.

If you wish to sponsor a specific school, please list your top 3 on the notes section of the payment form. You can sponsor more than one school (each for $100)
(If you do not include a school, your sponsorship(s) will be randomly assigned).


We accept payments via check or Venmo - find us at @HaywardHero-Foundation


Lawrence Dirksen


Bayside SDA

Veronique Levine

EL Specialist

Bowman Elementary

Davida Scott

Teacher on Special Assignment

Brenkwitz High School

Efthimios Karras

Math Teacher & Basketball Coach

Bret Harte Middle School

Susan Morgan

Office Manager

Burbank Elementary

Rachel Podpaly


Cesar Chavez Middle School

Rhina Lopez

Noon Duty Supervisor & Volunteer

Cherryland Elementary

James Balthazar

Senior Custodian

East Avenue Elementary

Chanel Pulido

COST Specialist

Eden Gardens Elementary

Lisa McClaine

Kindergarten Teacher

Eldridge Elementary

Chris Messer

6th Grade Teacher

Fairview Elementary

Ellen Romano


Faith Ringgold Elementary

Maria Gonzalez

Senior Custodian

Glassbrook Elementary

India Rodriguez

Operations Manager

Golden Oaks 


Derrick Jackson

PE Teacher

Harder Elementary

Mario Villalta

Evening Campus Supervisor

Hayward Adult School for Education & Careers

Steve Sanderson


Hayward High School

Deborah Klimas

Administrative Secretary

Hayward Early Learning Program

Sarai Bordeaux


Impact Academy of Arts & Technology

Sandra Baptista

School Nurse

Longwood Elementary

Diana Curiel

Science Teacher

Martin Luther King Jr Middle School

Armando Ayala

Campus Supervisor

Moreau Catholic High School

Jeff Barnes & Christopher Murray Sr.

PE Teacher & Lead Campus Supervisor

Mt. Eden High School

Carina Viera

Climate Room Supervisor

Ochoa Middle School

Toni Echaves


Palma Ceia Elementary School

Jack Lee

PE Teacher

Park Elementary

Marisa Perez Frame

5th Grade SEI Teacher

Ruus Elementary

Christopher Hernandez

Instructional Assistant, Student Council Moderator & Religion Coordinator

Saint Clement Catholic School

Susan Cabrales

Kindergarten Teacher

Schafer Park Elementary

Isabel Ramirez


Silver Oak High School

Veronica Herrera

PTA President

Southgate Elementary

Maria Castro


Stonebrae Elementary

Janella Anguiano

Volunteer & PTA President

Strobridge Elementary

Consuelo Jimenez

Bilingual Migrant Education Outreach Worker

Student Information & Assessment Center

Rafa Morales


Tennyson High School

Jacqualine Rucker

PTA President

Treeview Elementary

Yimmy Cao

Attendance Clerk

Tyrrell Elementary

Carlos Reynaga


Winton Middle School

Rosalba Aguilar

Y.E.P. Site Coordinator

Youth Enrichment Program

© 2020 Hayward Hero Foundation